UNESCO World Heritage Sites

The preservation and transmission to a new generation of one's own culture, history and traditions is an important task for every nation. Recognition of this heritage is necessary for an understanding of the present and planning for the future. Some cultural and natural values have local significance, while others are important for the whole of mankind, because they are unique and special.

It was to preserve and protect the most outstanding of these values that the UNO created the World Heritage Committee and accepted the Agreement regarding the protection of the world's cultural and natural heritage, to which 175 countries have attached themselves. In 2005, 812 World Heritage sites in the territories of 137 states were added to the list. The original two categories have been joined by a third, that of cultural region. Here can be found treasures where the natural and man-made environments are tightly interdependent and mutually worthy of preservation.

Hungary currently has 8 UNESCO World Heritage Sites, 7 in the cultural and one in the natural category:

Budapest including the Banks of the Danube, the Buda Castle Quarter and Andrássy avenue (1987+2002)

Tokaj Wine Region Historic Cultural Landscape (2002)

Old Village of Hollókő and its surroundings (1987)

Fertő / Neusiedlersee Cultural Landscape (2001)

Caves of Aggtelek Karst and Slovak Karst (1995)

Hortobágy National Park - the Puszta (1999)

Millenary Benedictine Abbey of Pannonhalma and its Natural Environment (1996)

Early Christian Necropolis of Pécs (2000)

Busó festivities were inscribed on the Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity of the UNESCO in 2009:

Busó festivities at Mohács: masked end-of-winter carnival custom (2009)