Hotel of the Year Awards 2013

The Hotel Association of Hungary (MSZÉSZ) together with the Hungarian Tourist Board, recently announced the winners of the Hotel of the Year award for 2013.

The annual competition aims to demonstrate the relationship between the good service and strong income performance. It is also a great opportunity to put a spotlight on the highest quality of services, to help spread "best practice" methods throughout the Hungarian hotel industry, and to strengthen its reputation.

The full list of nominated hotels and winners for the "hotel of the Year" competition in five, four and three star categories was as follows:

Hotel of the year nominees: 5 * - 5 * SUPERIOR Category
Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa ***** - Tarcal
Lotus Therme Hotel & Spa – Blackpool
Winner:  Boscolo New York Palace - Budapest

Hotel of the year nominees : 4 * - 4 * SUPERIOR
Airport Hotel Budapest - Vecses
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel - Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
Greenfield Hotel Golf & Spa - Buk
Hotel in Szeged centre - Szeged
Hunguest Hotel Helios Gold - Buk
Joint Winners : Hotel Palazzo Zichy – Budapest AND Naturmed Hotel Carbona - Hévíz

Hotel of the year nominees : 3 * - 3 * SUPERIOR

Casati Budapest Hotel
Hotel Ibis Gyor
Hunguest Hotel Helios - Hévíz
Ibis Budapest Centrum
Promenade City Hotel - Budapest
Winner:  Ibis Budapest Centrum

The 4-member took several aspects into account:

  • The revenue- indicators of the hotels on the basis of (annual room occupancy , average room rate and REVPAR (room revenue per available room) and TREVPAR (total revenue per available room)
  • The quality of services, investigated on the basis of the MSZÉSZ' own mystery shopper tests, as well as on the reviews on hotel review and reservation websites such TripAdvisor, booking, Expedia, Holidaycheck, etc.)
  • innovative sales and hotel management methods
  • Human Resources practices in the nominated hotels.

At a Gala Awards dinner held on January 17th at the Corinthia Hotel Ballroom, Dr. Akos Niklai, president of Hotel Association of Hungary (MSZÉSZ), congratulated the winners and all nominated on their excellent efforts throughout the year.

 Source: Turizmus online